Constitution of a Committee on Corporate Governance

Posted: 15/04/2012 in News

The Ministry of Corporate Affairs has constituted a Committee under the Chairmanship of Shri. Adi Godrej for framing a ‘National Corporate Governance Policy’ to suggest a comprehensive policy frame work to enable corporate governance of highest quality in all classes of companies without impinging on their internal autonomy to order their affairs in their best judgment.

The other Members of the Committee are as under:

Dr. Kiran Mazumdar Shaw,CMD, Biocon Ltd; Shri Sidharth Birla,, FICCI; DG, IICA; Shri M.K. Chauhan, Vice Chairman, Asian Centre for Corporate Governance & Sustainability; Shri R.S. Sharma, former MD, ONGC; Shri G. Ramaswamy, former President, ICAI; Shri Deosthali, L&T; Shri S. Balasubramaniyan, former Chairman, Company Law Board; Shri S.K. Rungta, ex-CMD, SAIL; Shri K.K. Mistry, CFO, L&T; Ms. Ziya Modi, Lawyer; Shri Sudhir Mittal, Additional Secretary in the M/o Corporate Affairs. In addition there will be nominees from the CII, Asshcham and the Institute of Cost Accountants of India as members. The President of ICSI as member Secretary and Convener of the Committee.

The Committee is expected to make its recommendations within six months from the date of its first meeting after wide consultations with all stakeholders in the corporate sector, academics and members of the public.

Source: Press Information Bureau.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s